James Madison University

Professional Honors and Recognition

  • Dr. JoAnne Brewster has been named the 2013 recipient of The Eileen Gupton Award for Early Career Contributions in Police and Public Safety Psychology by Division 18 Police and Public Safety Section.
  • Dr. Sara Finney has been selected to serve on the Editorial Board of the Journal of Educational Psychology. The main purpose of this APA journal is to publish original, primary psychological research pertaining to education across all ages and educational levels. The Journal of Educational Psychology is considered the “top” Educational Psychology journal (ranked by impact factor) and has an ~83% rejection rate (% of submitted manuscripts not accepted for publication in the journal). Sara will review ~10 articles per year during her two-year term on the Board. Sara also serves on the Editorial Board for the journal Educational and Psychological Measurement.
  • Dr. Anne Stewart recently served as the emcee for the International Association for Play Therapy awards ceremony. She was also named President of the national APT Foundation Board. The role of the board is to raise funds for research in play therapy.
  • Dr. JoAnne Brewster is one of the first professionals to be Board Certified in Police and Public Safety Psychology, by the American Board of Police and Public Safety Psychology (ABPPSP), a new specialty board of the American Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP).
  • Dr. Sara J. Finney was awarded the Thomas F. Donlon Memorial Award for Distinguished Mentoring from the Northeastern Educational Research Association for 'Outstanding Mentorship of Students and Colleagues' at the 2011 NERA Annual Conference (October 19-21).
  • Jason Kopp, first-year doctoral student in the Assessment & Measurement PhD program received 'The Best Paper by a Graduate Student' award for his paper:  "I can't believe she gave me a C!: Measuring entitlement in higher education” (co-authors: Tracy E. Zinn. Sara J. Finney, and Daniel P. Jurich).
  • Dena A. Pastor, Assessment & Measurement PhD and Psychological Sciences MA faculty member, was elected to the Board of Directors for NERA.
  • The CISAT Dean's Office is pleased to announce that Dr. Renee Staton, Counseling Programs Director, is the recipient of the 2011 Teaching Award for her work Training for Change: How to Teach Theory.
  • The Virginia Counselors Association has announced the winners of its annual awards. Sandy Hite, Clinician-in-Residence, received the Van Hoose Career Service Award. The CVCA won the Large Chapter of the Year Award.  The awards committee complimented Katie Baird, CVCA president and JMU alumna, on all the work of the organization, especially the newsletter edited by Jorli Swingin and Lisa Ellison, who are students in the School Counseling and Clinical Mental Health Programs respectively.