James Madison University

Alumni

Robin D. Anderson


Department Head, Graduate Psychology
Associate Professor of Graduate Psychology
James Madison University
Harrisonburg, VA
ander2rd@jmu.edu

Graduated: 2001
Dissertation
: Stereotype Threat: The Effects of Gender Identification on Standardized Test
Performance

Carol L. Barry


Research Scientist
The College Board
Newton PA
cabarry@collegeboard.org  

Graduated:  2010
Dissertation: Examining Change in Motivation Across the Course of a Low-Stakes Testing Session: An Application of Latent Growth Modeling

Susan K. Barnes


Assistant Professor
Dept. of Early, Elementary & Reading Education,
James Madison University
barnessk@jmu.edu

Graduated:  2010
Dissertation:  Using Computer-Based Testing with Young Children

Bozhidar M. Bashkov


Associate Psychometrician
American Board of Internal Medicine
Philadelphia, PA
Email: bbashkov@abim.org

Graduated: 2015
Dissertation
: Examining the Performance of the Metropolis-Hastings Robbins-Monro Algorithm in the Estimation of Multilevel Multidimensional IRT Models

Katie Busby


Director, Institutional Research
The University of Mississippi
Oxford, MS
kbusby@olemiss.edu

Graduated: 2005
Dissertation
:Validity Study of the Leadership Attitudes and Beliefs Scale III

Hilary Campbell


Assistant Professor, Psychology
Blue Ridge Community College
Harrisonburg, VA
campbellh@brcc.edu

Graduated: 2007
Dissertation
: Invariance of the Modified Achievement Goal Questionnaire Across College Students with and without Disabilities

Christopher M. Coleman


Assistant Director of Institutional Effectiveness
University of Alabama
Tuscaloosa, AL
cmcoleman6@bama.ua.edu

Graduated: 2013
Dissertation: Effects of Negative Keying and Wording in Attitude Measures: A Mixed-Methods Study

Jaime Cid


Psychometrics Manager
Educational Testing Service
Princeton, NJ
jcid@ets.org

Graduated: 2009
Dissertation
: Using explanatory item response models to examine the impact of linguistic features of a reading comprehension test on English language learners

Amanda Dainis


Research Scientist, CEB/SHL
Chantilly, VA
Measurement Consultant
amanda@dainisconsulting.com

Graduated: 2008
Dissertation
:Methods for Identifying Differential Item and Test Functioning: An Investigation of Type I Error Rates and Power

Susan L. Davis-Becker


Founding Partner
 ACS Ventures, LLC
sdavisbecker@acsventures.com

Graduated: 2005
Dissertation
:Achievement Goal Orientation Across the College Career: A Latent Growth Analysis

Megan France


Assistant Director of Assessment
Santa Clara University
Santa Clara, CA
mfrance@scu.edu

Graduated: 2011
Dissertation: Construct Validity Evidence for University Mattering:  Evaluating Factor Structure, Measurement Invariance, and Latent Mean Differences of Transfer and Native Students

Keston Fulcher


Executive Director of the Center for Assessment and Research Studies
Associate Professor of Graduate Psychology
James Madison University
Harrisonburg, VA
fulchekh@jmu.edu

Graduated: 2004
Dissertation
:Towards Measuring Lifelong Learning: The Curiosity Index

Jerusha Henderek


Psychometrician
National Board of Medical Examiners
Philadelphia, PA
 jerusha.henderek@gmail.com

Graduated: 2015
Dissertation
: Addressing Serial-Order and Negative Keying Effects:  A Mixed-Methods Study

Megan Rodgers Good


Director of Assessment
Auburn University
Auburn, AL
mrg0030@auburn.edu

Graduated: 2015
Dissertation
: Improving Student Learning in Higher Education:  A Mixed Methods Study

Makayla Grays


Associate Director of Institutional Research and Planning
Connecticut College
New London, CT
Makayla.Grays@conncoll.edu

Graduated: 2013
Dissertation: Measuring Motivation for Coursework across the Academic Career: A Longitudinal Invariance Study 

Sara Lambert Gutierrez


Manager of Research and Development
CEB
Arlington, VA
sara.gutierrez@cebglobal.com

Graduated: 2009
Dissertation
:Examining the Psychometric Properties of a Multimedia Innovative Item Format:  Comparison of Innovative and Non-Innovative Versions of a Situational Judgment Test

Emily R. Hoole


Group Director of Global Research and Evaluation
Center for Creative Leadership
Greensboro, NC
hoolee@ccl.org

Graduated: 2005
Dissertation
: Integrating and Evaluating Mathematical Models of Assessing Structural Knowledge: Comparing Associative Network Methodologies

S. Jeanne Horst


Associate Professor of Graduate Psychology 
Associate Assessment Specialist.
James Madison University
Harrisonburg, VA
horstsj@jmu.edu

Graduated:  2010
Dissertation:  A Mixture-Modeling Approach to Exploring Test-Taking Motivation in Large-Scale Low-Stakes Contexts

Jilliam N. Joe


 Consultant/Owner
Measure by Design Consulting
 Chicago, IL
jilliamjoe@gmail.com

Graduated: 2008
Dissertation
:Using Verbal Reports to Explore Rater Perceptual Processes in scoring: An Application to Oral Communication Assessment

Andrew T. Jones


 Psychometrician
American Board of Surgery
Philadelphia, PA
ajones@absurgery.org

Graduated: 2009
Dissertation
:Using the Right Tool for the Job: An Analysis of Item Selection Statistics for Criterion-Referenced Tests

Cassandra Jones


Director of Assessment
Montgomery College
Rockville, MD
Cassandra.Jones@montgomerycollege.edu

Graduated:
2009
Dissertation
: Nonresponse bias in online course evaluations

Daniel P. Jurich


Psychometrician
National Board of Medical Examiners
Philadelphia, PA
jurichdp@gmail.com

Graduated: 2014
Dissertation
: Assessing Model Fit of Multidimensional Item Response Theory and Diagnostic Classification Models using Limited-Information Statistics

Pamela K. Kaliski


Psychometrician
The College Board
Newtown, PA
 pkaliski@collegeboard.org

Graduated: 2009
Dissertation
:An Empirical Demonstration of Direct and Indirect Mixture Modeling When Studying Personality Traits: A Methodological-Substantive Synergy

James R. Koepfler


Senior Analytical Consultant      
SAS
Cary, NC
james.koepfler@sas.com

Graduated: 2012
Dissertation: Examining the Bifactor IRT Model for Vertical Scaling in K-12 Assessment

Xiaojing "Jadie" Kong


Senior Research Scientist 
Pearson Educational Measurement
Sunnyvale, CA
jadie.kong@pearson.com

Graduated: 2007
Dissertation
:Using Response Time and the Effort-Moderated Model to Investigate the Effects of Rapid Guessing on Estimation of Item and Person Parameters

Jason P. Kopp


Psychometrician
American Board of Surgery
Philadelphia, PA
koppjp@gmail.com

Graduated: 2014
Dissertation: The Treatment of Missing Data when Estimating Student Growth with Pre-Post Educational Accountability Data

Abigail Lau


Director of Assessment
 Emmanuel College
Boston, MA
laua@emmanuel.edu

Graduated: 2009
Dissertation
: Using a mixture IRT model to improve parameter estimates when some examinees are amotivated

Rory A. Lazowski


Associate Research Scientist 
The College Board
Newtown, PA
rlazowski@collegeboard.org

Graduated: 2001
Dissertation: Stereotype Threat: The Effects of Gender Identification on Standardized Test Performance

Susan M. Lottridge


Director of Machine Scoring and Psychometric Tools
Pacific Metrics
Golden, CO
slottridge@pacificmetrics.com

Graduated: 2006
Dissertation
:Comparing the Relative Measurement Efficiency of Dichotomous and Polytomous Models in Linear and Adaptive Testing Conditions

Ross E. Markle


Senior Research and Assessment Advisor
Higher Education Division
Educational Testing Service
Nashville, TN
rmarkle@ets.org

Graduated:  2010
Dissertation:  Examining the Bricks and Mortar of Socioeconomic Status: An Empirical Comparison of Measurement Methods

Kimberly “ Becca” Marsh-Runyon


Assessment Specialist
Product Design and Development
Pearson Online Learning
Austin, TX
krm.marsh@gmail.com

Graduated: 2013
Dissertation: The Effects of Item and Respondent Characteristics on Midpoint Response Option Endorsement: A Mixed-Methods Study

BJ Miller


Director of Institutional Research, Planning and Assessment
National Defense University
Washington, DC
bj.miller.civ@ndu.edu

Graduated: 2007
Dissertation
: Unfolding Analyses of the Academic Motivation Scale: A Different Approach to Evaluating Scale Validity and Self-Determination Theory

Christopher Orem


Associate Directorof Institutional Research
James Madison University
Harrisonburg, VA
oremcd@jmu.edu

Graduated: 2012
Dissertation:  Demonstrating Validity Evidence of Meta-Assessment Scores Using Generalizability Theory

Sue Pieper


Coordinator of Assessment, E-Learning Center
Northern Arizona University
Flagstaff, AZ
Sue.Pieper@nau.edu

Graduated: 2003
Dissertation
: Refining and Extending the 2 x 2 Achievement Goal Framework: Another Look at Work-Avoidance

Shelley Ragland


Psychometrics Manager
Western Governers University
Salt Lake City, UT
shelley.ragland@wgu.edu

Graduated:  2010
Dissertation: An Evaluation of a New Method of IRT Scaling

Barbara E. Rowan


Director of Academic Research, Efficacy, and Evaluation
Pearson  North America
Macon, GA
barbara.rowan@pearson.com

Graduated:  2010
Dissertation:  Comparability of Paper-and-Pencil and Computer-Based Cognitive and Non-Cognitive Measures in a Low-Stakes Testing Environment

Javarro Russell


Senior Research and Assessment  Director
Educational Testing Service
Princeton, NJ
jrussell@ets.org

Graduated:  2011
Dissertation:  Development and Validation of the Preservice Mathematical Knowledge for Teaching Items (PMKT):  A Mixed-Methods Approach

J. Carl Setzer


Lead Psychometrician
 American Institute of CPAs
Washington, DC
carl.setzer@aicpa-cima.com

Graduated: 2008
Dissertation
: Parameter Recovery of the Explanatory Multidimensional Rasch Model

Kara Siegert


Special Assistant to the President; Institutional Effectiveness & Assessment
Salisbury University
Salisbury, MD
kosiegert@salisbury.edu

Graduated: 2005
Dissertation
: Cyberspace Versus Face-to-Face: The Influence of Learning Strategies, Self-Regulation, and Achievement Goal Orientation

Alan B. Socha


Assistant Director for Assessment
University of Maryland
Washington, DC
asocha@umd.edu

Graduated: 2014
Dissertation: An Investigation of the Effects of Complex Items on Augmented Subscores

Matthew S. Swain


Research Scientist
HumRRO
Alexandria, VA
mswain@humrro.org

Graduated: 2015
Dissertation
: The Effects of a Planned Missingness Design on Examinee Motivation and Psychometric Quality

Mandalyn Gilles


Director of  Assessment and Planning for SEES
Old Dominion University 
mgilles@odu.edu

Graduated: 2015
Dissertation: Extending an IRT Mixture Model to Detect Random Responders on Non-Cognitive Polytomously Scored Assessments

Peter Swerdzewski


Assistant Commissioner for the Office of Assessment, Standards and Curriculum
State Education Department of the State University of New York
Albany, NY
pswerdz@me.com

Graduated: 2008
Dissertation
: Should We Worry About the Way We Measure Worry Over Time? A Longitudinal Analysis of Student Worry During the First Two Years of College

Melinda Taylor


Senior Research Scientist
Pearson
Austin, TX
Melinda.Taylor@pearson.com

Graduated: 2009
Dissertation
: An Application of Generalizability Theory to Evaluate the Technical Quality of An Alternate Assessment

Amy Thelk


Director of Assessment & Evaluation
College of Education, James Madison University
Harrisonburg, VA
thelkad@jmu.edu

Graduated: 2006
Dissertation
: Examinee Awareness of Performance Expectations and its Effects on Motivation and Test Scores

Laura M. Williams


Manager, Program Assessment
Western Governor's University
Salt Lake City, UT
l.williams@wgu.edu

Graduated: 2015
Dissertation: The Effect of Examinee Motivation on Value-Added Estimates

John Willse


Department Chair, Professor of Educational Research Methodology
School of Education
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Greensboro, NC
jtwillse@uncg.edu

Graduated: 2002
Dissertation
: Controlling Computer Adaptive Testing's Capitalization on Chance Errors in Item Parameter Estimates

Anna Zilberberg


Educational Program Manager
Pearson Evaluation Systems
Cambridge, MA

Graduated: 2013
Dissertation: Students' Attitudes toward Institutional Accountability Testing in Higher Education: Implications for the Validity of Test Scores